Teach Access Curriculum Development Awards

The Teach Access collaboration was established in 2016 to foster the teaching of accessible technology design and development to undergraduates in computer science, design, human computer interaction, user experience research, and related fields.

Check back on Wednesday, March 17, 2021 for a full Call for Proposals and a link to our application form.

The Teach Access Faculty Grants program has resulted in the creation of hundreds of new course materials by our grantees, as well as several research papers. The database of course materials is linked below, followed by research papers written by past grantees.

Previous Awardees

During Round 1 of our Curriculum Development Awards Program, Teach Access awarded 19 grants of $5,000 each to the following faculty:

  1. Camila Afanador-Llach (Florida Atlantic University)
  2. Bruce Elgort (Clark College)
  3. Aaron Ganci (Indiana University – Purdue University Indianapolis)
  4. Regine Gilbert (New York University)
  5. Grace Jun (The New School)
  6. Claire Kearney-Volpe (New York University)
  7. Devorah Kletenik (Brooklyn College, CUNY)
  8. Amanda Lazar (University of Maryland, College Park)
  9. Li Liu and Joe Bautista (California State University Northridge)
  10. Victoria Lowell (Purdue University)
  11. Benito Mendoza (New York City College of Technology, CUNY)
  12. Vivian Motti (George Mason University)
  13. Rebecca Mushtare (SUNY Oswego)
  14. Ashwin Satyanarayana (New York City College of Technology (CUNY)
  15. Brian Stone (Boise State University)
  16. Deborah Sturm (College of Staten Island, CUNY)
  17. Alyssa Vine (City University of New York)
  18. Amber Wagner (Birmingham-Southern College)
  19. Rosa Laura Zavala (Medgar Evars College, CUNY)

During Round 2 of our Curriculum Development Awards Program, Teach Access awarded 10 grants of $5,000 each to the following faculty:

  1. Rachel Adler (Northeastern Illinois University)
  2. Iftekhar Ahmed (UC Irvine)
  3. Anastasia Angelopoulou (Columbus State University)
  4. Stacy Branham (UC Irvine)
  5. Sarah Huibregtse (University of Mount Union)
  6. Christine Lhowe (Seton Hall University)
  7. Lisa Ortiz (Metropolitan State University of Denver)
  8. Andrea Salgian (The College of New Jersey)
  9. Andrew Scholer (Chemeketa Community College)
  10. Elaine Short (Tufts University)